Image

Is bad the new good?

25 Dec

Is bad the new good?

My sister recently asked my two year old niece, that wouldn’t she do something so and so, after all she was a good girl, and good girls always would do it so. My niece, the quick witted doll, didn’t take a minute to correct her mistake. She let my sister know clearly and concisely that, and I quote, “Me no good girl, me bad girl.”
Shocked as I was, I laughed it off when I heard this all, but since then I have come across more then several kids, blatantly announcing to the world that they are not good, shaking off any false beliefs or associated hopes of ours.
They are bad and hence surviving carelessly through the usual blackmail of parents, who cleverly used to tell us kids that we were only good if we did as they bid. Now, the children couldn’t be less bothered by such announcements.
This next generation of ours is a new league in itself. In fact, like my sister keeps saying, they are a new species. They don’t care to be held back by taboos such as being named “good” or “bad” judged on their behavior in tasks set by the elders. By instincts or otherwise they realize world doesn’t end with such pointless rankings, so they found a very easy solution. They admitted that they weren’t your traditional goody-goody-two-shoes kind of kids, so as not to be bothered to keep up with the charade, so as not to be bothered to keep up with appearances.
Scientific researches and surveys had proved that kids till they are ten are always looking for conformation from their parents, but I believe those statistics have already changed.
The kids of today are too busy making huge technological and emotional and even behavioral advances, too caught up in the race to shock, surprise, to invent, that they can no more be bothered by such ‘childish’ dilemmas.
So that brings us to the justifiable question, where is this generation headed? What will become of our kids?
And if they are not going to stick with being the child, who is? If they already know the easier way out through things, if they already know how to handle people so much elder to them, to break the norms of the society, what would they be doing in the upcoming decades?
When I look at my niece and nephew, the answers to these questions both intrigue and scare me. But they also humble me. And I end up praying, for them and for us.
May God be with the mothers raising their kids in this day and age. May God be with those even more, who will be raising their kids in the upcoming years.

8 Responses to “Is bad the new good?”

  1. Our Life In 3D December 26, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    It usually takes a wild girl to keep a wild guy in check! ; )

  2. shrinksarentcheap December 28, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    I love this post! It rings so ridiculously true with my daughter. I have never seen someone with such a voracious understanding of who she is, and that “good” is what she has already done. I love her for it though, her wildness and her liberties and her soul. Epic. And also, this: “I don’t give a damn ’bout my bad reputation, you’re livin’ in the past it’s a new generation….” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • gullhasnat December 28, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

      oh my god, I am just head over heels in love with the liberty and freedom this generation is already coming with. It is so mind-blowingly refreshing!! And somehow their wildness wants me to be wild too!!
      I have started wishing now that I can give a damn too-to everything!
      Your daughter sounds great!!!
      Oh, and by the way, thank you for stopping by!

  3. aFrankAngle January 1, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Off topic —- Hey Gull, just wanted to wish you a Happy New Year.

    • gullhasnat January 2, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      FRANK!!!! Happy New Year to you too!!!
      Have a great one!

      • aFrankAngle January 2, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

        See … I try to return. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • gullhasnat January 3, 2013 at 11:57 am #

        and I think I like you every day more for that!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

