The fashion crimes we all need to avoid…

20 Jan

I recently read a book-it was authored by a man in fashion I respect a lot and I just loved that book. It gave direct pointers on what to do and what to avoid in fashion. I agreed with him mostly everywhere, but on two points.

Code your nails

Code your nails


1. He believed quite adamantly that nails should be lacquered with nothing more then a single coat. Not only should the bling and the texture be skipped, but rather the institution be returned to its boring previous form. Now, though I am not a big fan of the mile long nails covered in obnoxious atrocities which girls seem to pass as ‘bling’, but that doesn’t mean I hate the whole institution. That doesn’t mean I don’t drool over the new leather texture nail lacquer or the pretty nail art Zoey Deschanel keeps getting. It doesn’t mean the next time I am wearing something casual I wouldn’t like to spike it with bright, patterned nails. They key to this institution is not just to keep it within the limits of normality, to maintain the balance between elegant and over-the-top, but also to showcase your personality in the best possible manner! So, I disagree with him where he says the whole institution be abolished and rather support an end to the fake, gaudiness in some of the versions of nail art that are making the girls of our generation more shallow.
slicked here-how to

slicked here-how to


2. He also said that slicked back (gel hair) buns should be avoided at all costs. Again, I disagree. There have been instances where I have seen the gel-slicked hair buns work so fabulously on people that I almost got coronaries. The key is knowing your face structure and styling your hair accordingly. If I with my small forehead was to get a heavy fringe, I would end up looking like an anorexic mouse. But a girl with a larger forehead and pretty eyes would just rock the fringe. So, next time you style your hair, worry not if its too gel-ed or not. Think only of your face structure and if it looks good on it or not!
Having told you what I disagreed with, let me give you a glimpse of what I do also think should be avoided:
1. Head-to-toe following the latest fashion trends.
2. Throwing on anything and then calling it vintage.
3. Moustache-Mondays
4. Scrunchies
5. Showing your bra for the heck of it, despite the filth on it
6. Hairy legs under hose
7. Matching your mate (seriously?)
8. Visible panty line (it can never be a fashion statement for me)
9. Gloppy Mascara
10. Baggy But

Honestly, I just loved the whole book. If you want to know about the author or the book, mail me at gull.hasnat@hotmail.com

Cheers and lots of love!

8 Responses to “The fashion crimes we all need to avoid…”

  1. SandyLand January 21, 2013 at 2:20 am #

    Hahaha! I love your list. And I agree on all points. (Although I do have one scrunchie…it never leaves the house…I only wear it to bed when I straighten my hair…I PROMISE!)

    • gullhasnat January 21, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      Well although I love you and completely believe you I still I have to say, always ensure that it stays IN YOUR BEDROOM ALONE! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • SandyLand January 21, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

        Hahahaah! You can trust me..that scrunchie will never see the light of day.

      • gullhasnat January 22, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

        oh thank GOD!!

  2. Our Life In 3D January 22, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    I think doing real nails is a lost art, at least around where live. It seems to easy to get some stick on nails. Decades and decades ago (when I grew up) ladies had to do their own nails so I suppose I am partial to those. I know it can’t easy but they can look like an individual’s nail instead of one from a pack of nails. Make sense?

    • gullhasnat January 22, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      Yeah, it does, and I completely and utterly agree with you. That’s my point, we need that balance. You know, like we can get the stick on nails now and then, but in routine days lets just stick with nice DIYs which go with your personality and yet are 100% you…say what?

      • Our Life In 3D January 22, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

        Yes, the DIY’s show a flair of personailty and a skill I think, much like fashion is a skill. Its individual skill and taste, . I think real nails look great! The stick on ones remind me of what kids put on when they are trying to dress up.

      • gullhasnat January 24, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

        AHAHAHAHA! I have to agree, nail art is an art-its fashion, its something that sets the tone to your whole dress. Fake nails can very easily be taken to be a fake person!

Leave a Reply

