Image

Subtle will always be more feminine

22 Mar

20130322-191637.jpg

Yeah well, sue me, I like being controversial.
But once you have abused and cursed me and the title of this post, I urge you to just think once. Why can’t subtle make you as confident, as popping, edgy or bright can? Why can’t pink feel as good on you as blood red? Why can’t a long, flowy summer dress be as charming as biker leather-shorts and black leather jackets.
And, maybe, once you have got those wheels churning you will give a thought to the rest of the title and agree with me that if it’s subtle, if it’s light, if it’s delicate-it will define femininity like nothing else can.
Still you do not agree.
Well let me paint a picture for you.
Amongst pink roses in a field of green, beneath a blue sky, a wind as fresh as morning dew carrying a sweet fragrance, blows lightly around the ankles of a young woman while a quiet calm reigns. The woman, dressed in a long white lace dress that just lightly touches her curves, stands on the toes of her sandal-clad feet, with her face upturned, her eyes closed and her rosy lips curved in a slight smile; her pink, glowing cheeks are brushed by the curls of her glossy hair that have escaped the delicate braid behind her head and her hands are tied behind her.
She slowly spins around, the dress swinging along her, kissing the back of her legs while she enjoys the there and then. While she enjoys just being.
She looks fresh, untouched, like an angel.
She is both mysterious and sensual.
She is female.

There is nothing about the girl that screams or shouts, is there? There isn’t anything “popping” about her outlook. Her dress isn’t “edgy” and cut so low and revealing as to make men salivate. Her hair have not been pampered with gel and spray for hours to be made just so, nor are her eyes covered in black. And her shoes definitely have no spikes on them.
Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against any of those things. But I believe that the media nowadays is teaching little girls that all this is feminine and being subtle is for the weak.
I object to that. Being subtle is feminine. Wearing minimum make-up doesn’t make you any less, it makes you more original.
Being subtle means you can wear makeup and designer brands and style your hair without letting go of your true self.
Every woman is born with this feminity, some of us just bury it under layers-of makeup, of clothing that isn’t us, of hair products, even of language.
And if you believe you were born with that delicacy, that means you are already half way there.
What I am trying to say is, it’s okay to be natural and subtle and be you and let your femininity charm people. It doesn’t make you weak, it doesn’t take away any of your rights.
If anything, maybe owning our natural poise and delicacy might let us hold on to the fight for women rights with an even stronger front. If we don’t respect who we are, how can we expect the men to do so.
However, if you feel the rock-star look is more you or if you feel more comfortable in ripped shirts and torn-out jackets, then I will say embrace that, but just now and then try to go for a more natural, barely there make-up look and a simple dress. And believe me, the female in you will shine.

Be who you are, be proud to be a girl.
Be proud to be a woman.

After all, who runs the world?

7 Responses to “Subtle will always be more feminine”

  1. Made By Paris March 22, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    I totally agree, especially for spring/ summer time. Nothing beats a simple cotton dress and sandals. Although I will admit, I do love getting it bit more dressed up for a night out!

    • gullhasnat March 22, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

      That doesn’t matter, every girl likes decking out, even I do. I just don’t want every girl to loose touch with that more carefree, more natural side of hers.

  2. Our Life In 3D March 22, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    lol…. Who Runs The World?? OK Ms. Subtle….I agree. Eye catching can be trendy or it might just be a call for attention. I think subtle, like in your photo, shows confidence in who you are vs not who you want to be. …but lets get back to who this place… πŸ™‚

  3. SandyLand March 22, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    I love your writing (and you!) and am so glad you’re back!
    I’m not always subtle..I hee haw when I laugh; I’m clumsy; I’m obnoxious…but I’m still a girl and I’m definitely still feminine.
    Today I’m rockin’ my kitty shirt, a tuxedo jacket and pair of jeans – with kickin’ red boots and I feel sassy and pretty and edgy and girly. πŸ™‚ But I am still gonna hee haw when I laugh.

    xoxox

    • gullhasnat March 27, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      hahahaha, that sounds adorable. And I love you too.
      And that outfit sounds unbelievably sassy. I had say do an ootd on it!!!

  4. Autumn April 9, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    I agree so much with this post.

    • gullhasnat April 9, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      thank you, your words and agreement mean the world to me!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

