Image

Not weird, complicated!

17 Jul

20130718-043114.jpg

” I planed to be sophisticated and elegant. A total lady, I suppose. But then they turned the music up. It’s not my fault that my favorite song was on.”

I read this quote somewhere in my fifth or sixth grade, and have loved it since then. But it took me a little time to realize that the “lady” wasn’t just talking about dancing like she had forgotten herself, what she meant was that all her inhibitions disappeared as soon as she found her own tune-her own calling.
And I feel she was a genius to know so well where her heart lay and followed it with passion without giving a damn about the world.
Which brings me to what my dad always says,

” the world will never be completely satisfied with you. You can either try to make them happy, or live.”

I for one have always chosen to live, sometimes even when I probably just should have not.
More like, when I should have slept in late at home and avoided the opportunity to make a fool out of myself.
But come to think of it, even those misconceived or badly handled ideas that ran a “little” awry for me, in hindsight, I am glad for. Not only because they add breadth to my life but make it colorful, bright, interesting.
Though sometimes all that I do and say, I can see, forces these wheels start to churn in people’s minds with the “she is weird” expression barely masked on their faces.
I get it. I have done pretty “out of the norm” stuff.
Starting a blog on fashion not being the worst of them although I believe in my city most people gave me the stink eye for at least a month for stepping out of the box.
Those who don’t find me creepy anymore are those who have their own blogs now, or already did at that time.
But I can’t blame them. I was one of the first few people from here to start a blog.
And that too on fashion. ( The atrocity, what was I thinking!)
And then I started offering my styling services.
The criminal that I was!
Shame! Shame!
I could see people putting quarantine tags around me mentally, and though it haunted me when I saw the calculatedly judgmental looks in some of their well known faces, I shrugged it off and helped them dislike me more.
How?
By joining hands with my sister in her dress designing business.
And although the last one I have had to put on hold due to all else I have got going on, it doesn’t matter because now I am officially the “unknown”.
The alien, I suppose. ( Hello, earthlings!)
πŸ˜€
And if yesterday you had asked me if all this bothered me I would have said yes.
But today, it doesn’t. Maybe I am having my own “Lindsay Lohan stint”. Or maybe because I see how temporary everything is. Including my life.
And I can’t spend it worrying over who would think what of me when I did something.
Instead, I choose the “‘infinite’ lightness of being.”
So, let’s raise our proverbial glasses or cups or even saucers (I suppose) and toast to being ourselves from now on, through and through.
Even if that someone is too complicated for people around us to get.
Maybe one day they will.
Hence, what the heck, let’s toast to that day too.

Kisses.
Gull a.k.a. Lindsay Lohan
πŸ˜‰

28 Responses to “Not weird, complicated!”

  1. Our Life In 3D July 18, 2013 at 1:18 am #

    Amen Gull! My friend Jimmy Buffett would say, “living 24 hours, maybe 60 good years its really not that long a stay”. Its too short to worry about what others think.

    • gullhasnat July 18, 2013 at 9:34 am #

      it is too short. I like how your friend phrases it.
      We all need to see the bigger picture now and then. πŸ˜‰

  2. Donah @ SweetJellyBean July 18, 2013 at 3:24 am #

    I love what your Dad says to you all the time – it’s very true. And in the end you can only choose what’s best for you. I’m glad that you are following what your heart tells you regardless of what others may think. Just do your own thing girl and all will be fine πŸ˜‰

    • gullhasnat July 18, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      oh thank you so much, for all the kind words and all the support. Its hard, to go after what you love. But its worth it. πŸ˜‰
      And its made easier by friends like you. πŸ˜‰

  3. caroline July 18, 2013 at 6:33 am #

    I just love that last quote, that’s how I’m desperately trying to live my life!
    xo
    styleontheside.com

    • gullhasnat July 18, 2013 at 9:38 am #

      hahaha. Aren’t we all honey.
      Though now and then we do need a little push. So if you need that or any support, I am always here for you.
      thanks for stopping by. πŸ˜€

  4. Frank July 18, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    Cheers to your dad’s wisdom, which you seem to embrace. You are obviously a free spirit … good for you! But please, don’t be a Lindsey Lohan. Hope all is well with you!

    • gullhasnat July 20, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      Hahaha. Right now I am actually just planning to stay true to myself. Lindsey isn’t all that much my style!
      All is well here. I hope you are doing great?

      • aFrankAngle July 21, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

        That a way! All is well … just returned from a celebration of National Ice Cream Day. A tough task …. but I was up to the challenge.

      • gullhasnat July 21, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

        Sounds more fun then tough! πŸ˜›

      • aFrankAngle July 21, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

        Tough … especially when visiting one of the best ice cream stores anywhere!

      • gullhasnat July 21, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

        Hahaha. Ok now you are making me jealous! :-/

      • aFrankAngle July 21, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

        OK … time to up the jealously level. http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/on-graeter-the-greatest/

      • gullhasnat July 22, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

        oh my god, that’s that. I am going to dig out my baskin robbins to feel a little better.

  5. SandyLand July 18, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

    Lovely little spiel. Kudos for doing what you do. We love you for it. My proverbial glass is raised and I toast you.
    BTW – is that FINALLY a photo of you? Soooooooo incredibly pretty.
    xoxoxox

    • gullhasnat July 20, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Hahaha. Yes, and mine is raised and I toast us! And you, for always being there. :-*
      Thank you! Yes that is me. πŸ˜€

      • SandyLand August 6, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

        Have you been told today how pretty you are?
        And I just realized who it is your photo reminds me of….the bitchy sister in the Twilight movies…..Rosalie aka Nikki Reed. πŸ™‚

      • gullhasnat August 6, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

        aw. You just told me and made my day.
        Seriously, Nikki? OMG. I feel sexier-though I am not so sure if she had like to be told that. πŸ˜‰

  6. FreeUrCloset July 19, 2013 at 3:39 am #

    Great post. Indeed, it’s a great view to have on life. In the end, no one’s opinion about you matters but your own πŸ˜‰
    -XOXO- Natasha

    • gullhasnat July 20, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

      So true Natasha!
      Thanks for the encouragement though! :-*

  7. ladyfi July 20, 2013 at 4:11 am #

    Nice shot! And here’s to us!

    • gullhasnat July 20, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

      Here is to us indeed.
      And here is to you!
      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ˜‰

  8. aFrankAngle July 22, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    LOL … Any substitute will work when needed as long as you realize odds are that it would be close to Graeter’s. So add this treat to your “If I ever make it to the US” list because it can be found in many grocery stores. ,,, and on a fashion note, you look good in envy green.

    • gullhasnat July 24, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      hahaha, I think I will keep working on this green look. It seems to be a little stuck anyway. And it is definitely going on that list. πŸ˜€

      • aFrankAngle July 24, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

        Green a trendy color that is back in fashion now.

      • gullhasnat July 24, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

        why do I feel that you had a huge part to play in it? :_D

      • aFrankAngle July 24, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

        LOL … nope … just notice the color in the stores.

      • gullhasnat July 24, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

        hahaha. ok.

Leave a Reply

