Image

Forget him-get your own ‘boyfriend’ jeans!

1 Aug
Couple your boyfriend jeans with structured extras.

Couple your boyfriend jeans with structures extras.

The boyfriend jeans.
To be honest these jeans used to be the bane of my existence.
Before the skinny jeans era, I owned more than (embarrassing confession coming up) a couple, and I used to always fidget around with them, unsure about how to style them.
But that’s a thing of the past. Now they are one of my favorite pieces in my wardrobe-especially on the days when I would rather have a better blood circulation in my legs ( skinny jeans syndrome is NOT a fluke).
What did I do, you ask, that made me change my perspective on them?
I gave up on men, and decided I could die happy a spinster so I no more needed to impress them. True story. πŸ˜‰
Or maybe it was just the fact that walking around with numb legs made me realize their worth. (I seriously broke down, hugged my boyfriend jeans and cried all night after wearing my skinnies the first time. Well, sort of.)
In any case, once I was ready to get over the eluding species (if you know what, or whom, I mean) and concentrated more on what I liked, I found out that these jeans were my new best friends.
But still, you doubt me.
It is okay, I hear you, they feel like you just borrowed them.
But honey, that is the point.
Not the borrowing part, you don’t actually go and borrow your guy’s jeans (who else is a little grossed by that thought-urgh the image), but the idea is that its okay if they look oversized and borrowed. Hence the name.
But like always, I digress. ( sheesh, give this girl some space-old habits die hard.)

What you want to know is, what really made them work for me? The shortcut, I suppose.
Well, I am happy to oblige. Here are the four things for you to remember when wearing these jeans.
1. Either couple them with tailored items that fit well on you-cute bright blazers, fitted lace tops, structured heels-all the dainty stuff or go for a crop top. Remember you have to counter their rough, hooligan look with your personal, girly flair.
2. Coupling them with bright jewels, eye-catching yet delicate, will bring a striking pop to them giving a perfect mix of your femininity to their masculinity. ( That didn’t sound creepy at all. :-D)
3. Crop them. Fold them at the ends and keep them above your ankles. It makes you look less un-kept, very sleek and the show of your dainty ankles will be a reminder of the girl you are. (well, maybe I haven’t completely turned into that spinster, yet.) And don’t go buying ones that are too oversized. That’s awkward even for us.
4. Eat. A lot. Run. Walk. Do summersaults. Because, shit boy, but that skinny jeans syndrome ain’t holding us back today. So you better keep an eye on your dinner platter.

That's how you work your boyfriend jeans.

That’s how you work your boyfriend jeans.

These four things have always worked for me. And I believe if you enjoy wearing a piece of your clothing once, the next time subconsciously you will be reaching for it first when you open your wardrobe (or walk into it, if you are that lucky). And you will wear it around with much more confidence.
Still not enough? Here is something to start off with.
Pair them with a white tank top, a bright blazer and some delicate-enough-to-break-amazingly-inefficient heels. Add some delicate arm candy. And blaze around the town.
Keep the experiments for the second time around.

Psst. If you want more tips on how to wear these lovelies, I will be doing another follow-up so stick around.
Also, smile. Cause if they are not your thing, skinnies aren’t going anywhere yet.

Love.
Gull

42 Responses to “Forget him-get your own ‘boyfriend’ jeans!”

  1. SandyLand August 2, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    I’d like to pair the jeans with that girl’s tummy up there. JEALOUS.
    Good post tho. I always look forward to your little rays of sunshine. πŸ˜€

    • gullhasnat August 3, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

      Hahaha. When I was putting the pic up I was seething with jealousy myself!

      And I live to await your response to my rants! πŸ˜€

  2. Melanie Sutrathada August 4, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    I’m hugely obsessed with boyfriend jeans! I absolutely adore them but have yet to find the perfect pair for my frame. I’ll definitely be picking up a pair soon though and referring to your post when styling them. Thanks for sharing, Gull!

    Melanie
    http://laceandcombatboots.com/

    • gullhasnat August 4, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

      any day Melanie, I am here for you always. And adorable they are!!
      Thank you though, for the vote of confidence.
      ❀

  3. Caity @ Moi Contre La Vie August 6, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    LOVE that top picture w/ the tweed jacket – Killer style! ❀

  4. Tianna August 6, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    love that top outfit!!

  5. eyah (@eyahnism) August 6, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    funny on the blood circulation hihi! #GIG

  6. Casey Lindberg-Coghill August 6, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    You look just like just as much of a model as the second photo! πŸ™‚ I, too, love the boyfriend jean trend. They’re really nice for those days when you’re not feeling your thinnest!

    http://veggiesandglitter.com

    • gullhasnat August 6, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      so true Casey, they are probably my “I need to stay in my comfort zone today” pants!!
      Thanks for the compliment btw, means a lot!! ❀

  7. Natalie August 6, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    I’m not a fan of boyfriend jeans, they make my uber-femimine hips too fat, to be honest… I’m just a fan of skinny jeans! πŸ˜€

    GIG love ❀

    • gullhasnat August 6, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

      I get what you mean, the line between looking ‘laid back” in them and looking like you have saggy hips is really a fine one.
      But, all the more power to skinnies-no? πŸ˜€

  8. producthoochie August 7, 2013 at 3:27 am #

    I love boyfriend jeans. I think they suit my body type.

    • gullhasnat November 8, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

      They are love right?
      Thanks for dropping by.

  9. iammorena August 7, 2013 at 7:13 am #

    hmm…will try again my boyfriend jeans…i’m a bit on the heavy side and sometimes the boyfriend jeans look like skinnies on me (especially on the thigh area) hahaha! o well :p

    sending you some #GIGersGivers love! ❀

    • gullhasnat November 8, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

      Size is just a no babes. Just go with what you feel like and love yourself.
      Remember dogs like bones. Or bitches. Men and sane women prefer curves.:-*

  10. Ileana August 7, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Love them!! πŸ˜€ But I prefer skinny jeans πŸ˜€
    xoxo

    novelstyle.blogspot.com

    • gullhasnat November 8, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      I believe you are one amongst the majority who share your opinion! πŸ˜‰
      Thank you for dropping by!! πŸ˜€

  11. We Share Beauty August 9, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    hahahaha the title alone made me laugh….nice tips btw, if only I’m more taller I would wear those boyfriend jeans, but I need to stick with my skinny jeans for now….

    • gullhasnat November 8, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

      Thankyou. And Sorry for the delayed response.
      And honestly? I have seen my BFF, who is quite short, Rick those BFF jeans. I had say if that cutie of a midget can (no offense B)then you can too! πŸ˜‰

  12. Betzy Carmona August 9, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    I love those trends ! Can I just have your flat tummies please? πŸ™‚
    GIG

  13. Alia August 10, 2013 at 3:29 am #

    I love the boyfriend jeans. To be honest, I’m really NOT a fan of skinny jeans. I just can’t into that trend.

    • gullhasnat November 8, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

      I hear you girl. There are days when I had be wearing anything but skinnies.

  14. Margaret Heisworkingitout Reed August 10, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    You look great! I do not own any boyfriend jeans, I am the skinny jean girl…I think it is because I am a grandmom and I feel sloppy in the boyfriend jeans, Maybe I will try a pair.
    Living F.A.B.ulously on Purpose

    • gullhasnat August 16, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

      GIve it a try, believe me its worth it. It can make you feel relaxed and chic at the same time
      Also, thank you for dropping by. πŸ˜€

  15. Maxinne Marie August 10, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    Your outfit is sooo stylish!

  16. Mrs. Gaeul August 11, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

    Yesss, I love boyfriend jeans because they have a more modest fit!

    • gullhasnat August 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      That is very true. Maybe that’s another reason why they feel so comfy to carry around.

      Thank you for dropping by too.

  17. Kajsa Josephine August 12, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    Love them too! Like to add feminine touches as contrasts.

    • gullhasnat August 16, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      yes, that’s a great way to spice them up.
      Thank you for dropping by Kajsa, pleasure having you here. πŸ™‚

  18. Emma August 12, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    Love all of your styling tips! Great post!!

    • gullhasnat August 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Thank you so much Emma, your support means the world to me!! ❀

  19. bellezakisses August 12, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

    Love this! I’ve yet to try boyfriend jeans, but I really should.

    • gullhasnat August 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Hahahaha. Touche.
      You try them and then let me know how it goes.

  20. Somdyuti D. Ray August 22, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    I used to own a couple of them too. But I was too lazy too wear them mostly because, as you said, ksinny-jeans syndrome hahaha.. but they are pretty comfortable. My sister cut cropped one of my boyfriend jeans into a short, and it looks nightmare now LOL. πŸ˜€

    • gullhasnat November 4, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

      hahahaha. I am imagining that and am not sure if I should cringe or wonder where she went wrong. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

