Toffee Coffee-The recipe

24 Nov

20131124-200607.jpg

Winter for me means coffee, in all it’s forms. (Alright, I admit, summer means almost the same to me too.)
However, for some reason, I prefer cuddling up in my sweaters and comforters near the fire with a huge mug of COLD coffee rather then a hot one-can’t go with the flow can I? Mum tried curing that for it meant worse sore throats for me-but she gave up when she realized we were a love story meant to be. Albeit a painful one. πŸ˜›
When she did though, she began doing her next favorite thing-finding substitutes for my plain cold coffee. In her opinion I drink too much of the “damned thing.”
Sigh. How ill-understood some of us are.
In any case, though some of what she came up with was far from perfect, all her attempts didn’t turn out to be for useless “no good”-at least they were better then the time she gave me the green tea “infused” cold coffee.
Honest, I still gag at even the thought of that. She still persists it was a real recipe from some tv show. Though she conveniently forgot for good the name of said show. And chef. And even the channel.
But I digress. Maybe not all but some of her attempts left me with amazing recipes and although they don’t necessarily decrease the amount of coffee in them, they make for amazing holiday season drinks. Especially when I am entertaining and am short on time for drink preparation.
(Ok. I just need an excuse to make them.)
As it turns out, my guests get me more then my mother. (Atrocity-I know :-P) Not only do they love the idea of freezing their insides along with their already cold skins(YAY), but they also appreciate coffee as much as I do. (Aww!)
But, again, I leave the more important topic. That of today sharing with you one of my mum’s experiments. I am sure some of you would already have seen this recipe somewhere else. Even tried it too. Still, I prefer to remember it as her creation and didn’t search for any contenders. But go ahead and tell me your recipe is better then mine. I won’t draw my claws, but do grant me the permission to snarl. Just a bit? It’s my mother we are discussing here after all. πŸ˜‰

Toffee Coffee Recipe: (serves 2)
Skimmed Milk- 1 Cup
Ice shavings- 1/2 Cup
Vanilla Essence- 1/4 tsp
Chocolate Syrup(I use Hershey’s)- 1/4 tbsp
Caramelized sugar(I make mine right then)- 1/2 to 3/4 tbsp
Toffee flavored ice cream- 2 scoops
Ground Coffee- 1 tbsp (or more if you love the more bitter tinge)
Your favorite toffee/candy(I use Eclairs)- 4 small ones broken into pieces
Caramel syrup(optional)-For Garnishing

20131124-201248.jpg

Method:-
1. In your blender put the milk and ice and grind for 60 seconds.
2. Add the all other ingredients except the candy and ice cream. Blend till frothy.
3. Scoop out ice cream into serving glasses. Pour into them the mixture. Spoon in the bits of candy and let them settle in at their own speed.
4. Cuddle up near the fire and enjoy.

Note:-Caramelized sugar is what makes the toffee flavor stand out and when bits of candy come in with each sip they add the perfect surprise.

Happy Sunday.

P.S. I am already sneezing after this one. Gotta go prep for the soup. Soon. Like in an hour. Or a day….:-D

11 Responses to “Toffee Coffee-The recipe”

  1. caroline November 25, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    On paper that recipe looks wonderful! This is the season where I always get suckered in to buying a fancy coffee but you know what I always come back to simplicity. Coffee and some milk and that’s all I really like….

    • gullhasnat November 25, 2013 at 11:31 am #

      You know what? At a level I get you. At the end nothing spells coffee like the plain old simple version.
      But then there are days I just prefer being lush, and I think you know what I mean!
      Happy Monday! :-*

  2. SandyLand November 25, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    I bought Kahlua Peppermint Mocha coffee on the weekend and made my first cup this morning. It’s so lovely. The perfect way to start a cold morning after a snowfall.

    • gullhasnat December 9, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Peppermint and mocha. Two words that together put me in the best moods. I need one too right now!

  3. aFrankAngle November 27, 2013 at 12:09 am #

    I would never tell you that my recipe is better than yours … no way … after all, i drink very little coffee! πŸ˜‰ …. Hi Gull!

    • gullhasnat December 9, 2013 at 10:13 am #

      Hahahaha. I am not sure to be flattered or horrified.
      I will go with both and question how can anyone drink “very little coffee”?
      And oh, HI FRANK!

      • aFrankAngle December 9, 2013 at 11:23 am #

        Just not a big coffee drinker .. but I understand the variations in natural flavors! …. let alone all the combinations people can do.

      • gullhasnat December 10, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

        Hahaha. Coffee is a word as mysterious and deep as an ocean, so do not be mislead by how simple it sounds.

      • aFrankAngle December 10, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

        You are quite wise Oh One with Spunk.

      • gullhasnat December 13, 2013 at 11:54 am #

        Hahaha. That was more about being a “blinded coffee lover” then being wise.
        πŸ˜€

      • aFrankAngle December 13, 2013 at 11:56 am #

        πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

