Maternal Love

3 Feb

“A mother’s love for her child is like nothing else in the world. It knows no law, no pity. It dares all things and crushes down remorselessly all that stands in its path.

-The Last Seance (from The Hound of Death and Other Stories, also Double Sin and Other Stories)”

When we crave for love, what kind of love do we all want? Needless to say; we all want love which is pure and All-giving. And the eternal fountain for this kind of pure a love is the love of a mother for her child. Maternal love is beyond comparison, no form of love can compete with it. For this love is unconditional, accepts flaws or faults and is all forgiving as well. It is the most committed form of love. Not just that, it is sacrificial and makes one feel secure, comfortable and safe. And these are not mere fancy words, each of these words, truly in essence is the description of maternal love.

I remember, when I held my daughter for the first time in my arms after 36 long hours of delivery, I felt on the top of the world, I was over joyous and over whelmed, I was laughing and crying at the same time. All of the pain of the past hours was forgotten in an instant, and the only focus was my newly born daughter. Although I was not a first time mother, yet, this experience was new for me, since, my elder son was born through a c-section, and when I held him in my arms, he was already a few hours old, though, this in no way has lessened my love for him. He being my first born stayed the focus of my whole existence for 4 years, till when his sister came to share my love. But the best part of the motherly love is, it is never divided, it always multiplies.

Although my relation with my son changed a bit, from him being’ my baby’ to ‘my big boy’, however, it is just as important for me and this importance will never fade, NEVER.

This post was first written by my sister, for though I know and have learned to be thankful for all forms of love , she insisted this to be a one of a kind feel so I insisted she share the same feelings.
And as you can read, there appears to be angles and dimensions to her emotions I can’t even think about so while I thank my sister for such a beautiful post I urge you to join us in our #28daysoflove series and be thankful for all that you have.

Leave a Reply

