Don’t let go

11 Dec

I miss writing.

That thought has been a recurrent one for me since the past three years.

Yes, three.

I don’t know how I let myself do this. How I let go of things that I loved in favor of other ones that I knew wouldn’t last.

I let the temporary replace the permanent, and that is the worst mistake anyone can make.

If you love something, really and deeply, don’t let it go. Or a part of you will forever be missing.

I just began writing again, and it took me that to realize how incomplete and empty I had been. To find the missing piece of myself felt like a coming home I had been waiting for all this time. The rush of having a story in your head come alive on a page in front of you is one I can never explain, but one that sends a warmth through me every single time. To watch that story mould in a way even you couldn’t foresee is an absolute pleasure. And I can’t tell you how much I regret having gone three years without getting to experience all of that.

Why is she going on and on about some re-found passion of hers? I will answer that question with a request, that request being the reason why I wrote all of this.

Don’t give up on things you love doing. No matter how busy you are, no matter how caught up in life or people you are, no matter how time-consuming other things have become, don’t let anything or anyone be the cause of you giving up on that which brings you joy. Force yourself to go back to the activities that used to give you so much pleasure. Find time, if even the smallest fraction of it, to give to that which was once so important to you. Rediscover your lost passions, at least give them a chance to win you over again. Maybe, they are a lost cause-as you keep telling yourself, or maybe something better awaits you.

Go on, give it one more shot. Because life, it is short, but also sly. Sometimes the best things in life are right under your nose. All it needs is being brave, or maybe even less-maybe all it needs is to keep holding on to your passions.And never letting them go. Maybe they wont lead you to something grand, but nothing is more satisfying than not giving up.

Our careers and education are indeed important and require too much of our time and attention, but these little things add the needed color to our lives. Otherwise it’s just a handful of early mornings and late nights speckled amongst days melting into one another as we work ourselves to the ground trying to make it big in our fields.

Before I end this post, for anyone out there who has lost a passion and is trying to find their way back, please reach out to me. Maybe I can help in some way.

And for anyone out there trying to write that earth-shattering best-seller (we can do it, right?) while managing their college routine, my heart is with all of you. And so are my prayers.

Stay blessed,

Gull.

 

2 Responses to “Don’t let go”

  1. SandyLand December 11, 2016 at 6:00 pm #

    Welcome back. I am so glad you’ve decided to return to us.

    • gullhasnat December 11, 2016 at 11:04 pm #

      hey!! YES..missed this. and you the most!! ❤

Leave a Reply

